Welcome to LACERS!
Contact Us Homepage
Seminars

It's never too early to plan for your retirement
LACERS offers seminars to help you prepare for retirement. Through the Planning for Retirement Seminars and the Lunchtime Lectures, you can learn more about your LACERS retirement plan including your retirement benefits, retiree health benefits, survivor benefits and more.

Click here to register online and reserve your seminar date or call LACERS at (800) 779-8328 for more information. Please check this page regularly for updates.

LACERS currently offers:
Planning for Retirement Seminars
These seminars help you to understand your retirement benefits as a LACERS Member. The more you learn about this comprehensive benefit program, the better you will be prepared for retirement.

 

Planning for Retirement Seminar - Tier 1 (PFR Tier 1)
This seminar is recommended for City employees in Tier 1. Tier 1 LACERS Members are those that began their City careers before July 1, 2013.

This 4.5 hour seminar covers LACERS Tier 1 retirement formula, the retirement allowance benefit, the health benefits, survivor benefits, mental preparedness and what to expect at the retirement counseling session. Scheduled at least once a month and with several Saturday dates available, these seminars are held at different locations throughout the City: LACERS offices, the Cabrillo Marine Aquarium in San Pedro, and the Marvin Braude Constituent Center in Van Nuys.



Planning for Retirement Seminar - Tier 2 (PFR Tier 2)
This seminar is recommended for City employees in Tier 2. Tier 2 LACERS Members are those that began their City careers on or after July 1, 2013.

The Tier 2 Planning for Retirement is currently being developed. Please check back for further updates. Click here to view the Summary Plan Description for Tier 2.
 

 

Have you already attended a Tier 1 Planning for Retirement Seminar and need a quick review? Click here to view online videos of the key points of the Tier 1 LACERS Plan.

Lunchtime Lecture (LL)
This is an hour-long seminar (held during the lunch hour) that focuses on LACERS Larger Annuity Program* related to retirement planning. It is held at LACERS building from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

*The LACERS Larger Annuity Program features two components:
  • An annuity you can purchase when you retire to guarantee a fixed payment stream for you and your spouse or domestic partner; and/or,
  • A supplementary retirement income investment vehicle.

Please be aware that all LACERS seminars have attendance limitations. If you reserve a seat and later decide you will not be attending, please call (800) 779-8328 and cancel your reservation as soon as possible. This will allow other City employees the opportunity to attend.




Seminar date Seminar Location  
Fri, 05/16/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Sat, 05/17/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Mon, 06/09/2014
PFR Tier 1
San Pedro
Thu, 06/12/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Fri, 06/13/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Wed, 06/18/2014
LL Larger Annuity
LACERS
Wed, 07/16/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Fri, 07/18/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Fri, 08/01/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Sat, 08/02/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Wed, 09/24/2014
LL Larger Annuity
LACERS
Thu, 09/25/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Sat, 09/27/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Wed, 10/08/2014
PFR Tier 1
Van Nuys
Wed, 10/22/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Fri, 10/24/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Fri, 11/14/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Sat, 11/15/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Wed, 12/03/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Fri, 12/05/2014
PFR Tier 1
LACERS
Wed, 12/17/2014
LL Larger Annuity
LACERS